County Poet Laureates Welcomed at Governor’s Mansion



Columbus County Schools High School Poet Laureates were recognized on October 11th, 2022 at the Governor’s Mansion. Columbus County Schools is the first district in the state to award Poet Laureateships at each of its high schools thanks to a pilot program from the North Carolina Arts Council and NC Poet Laureate Jaki Shelton Green.
The honorees were:
CCCA Poet Laureate Abigail McPherson
Teachers- Robin Gore and Kevin Toman
ECJSHS Poet Laureate Justin Wellons
Teacher – Tara Williamson
SCHS Poet Laureate Leah Dew
Teachers Cheryl Cartrette and Peggy Smith
WCHS Poet Laureate Alleyna Roberts